top of page
  • Writer's picturePCP

Celebrating South Tees health and social care shining stars

The Pioneering Care Partnership (PCP) is proud to deliver Healthwatch to the people of Middlesbrough, and Redcar and Cleveland - that together encompasses the South Tees area.

Healthwatch South Tees supports communities with health and social care advice and information, by giving people a voice to have their say. To say thank you to local communities, Healthwatch South Tees hosted its annual Star Awards to shine a light on rewarding work taking place.

PCP's Healthwatch South Tees team

On Wednesday 6 April 2022, organisations gathered to celebrate lots of amazing individuals, teams, volunteers and services within health and social care in the South Tees area. Each of those shortlisted were nominated by fellow professionals, colleagues, and even patients who felt that local services warranted the acknowledgment. A panel of Healthwatch South Tees' Board members then had the tough decision of picking winners.

On the day of the ceremony, Healthwatch South Tees Vice Chair, Ian Holtby, presented individual certificates to those shortlisted in each of our categories and 2021 winners presented 2022 winners with their trophy.

Compere for the day - PCP's Healthwatch South Tees Project Lead, Lisa Bosomworth, spoke about the work PCP's project have been doing over the last 12 months, including new priorities, areas of influence and community consultation.

Lisa said: "Today is about celebrating all of the hard work by these great people. Especially those who volunteer their free time, or have worked over and above what's expected from them.

"They are invaluable to to our local communities and to those they work with, so to recognise them with our awards is something special."

Lisa was also joined on stage by guest speakers, Dominic Gardner - Director of Operations at Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust and Richie Andrew - Public Health South Tees (South Tees Wellbeing Network) who spoke about their work and how we have informed essential elements.

PCP Chief Executive, Carol Gaskarth, and Chair of the PCP's Board of Trustees, Barry Knevitt, closed the Star Awards with a message of thanks and appreciation to all of the Healthwatch South Tees for their hard work and dedication to recognising shining stars in the local community. They awarded Lisa with flowers for going above and beyond to organise such a fantastic event.

Please see below for all category nominees and winners:

Excelling in Support to Others Award: Recognising those who deliver an excellent service in health and social care. Sarah Freeney - Future Regeneration of Grangetown, Laura Paterson - Specialist Midwife in Infant Feeding (James Cook Hospital), Sarah Maude - Sexual Assault Refferal Centre, Jan Coles - Central delivery suite (James Cook Hospital), Rachael Scott - Family Dental Practice. Winner: Laura Paterson Making a Difference Award: Recognising those who volunteer their time to make a positive difference in the community. Yvonne Theresa Bytheway, Garet Howell, Nigel Vaughan Winner: Yvonne Theresa Bytheway Valued Service Award: Celebrating valuable health and social care services in the community. Teesside Hospice, Zoe's Place Baby Hospice, The Bariatric Team - James Cook Hospital, A&E wards 32 and 36 - James Cook Hospital, Appropriate Adults service - Middlesbrough and Stockton Mind, Community Ventures, Ward 29 staff - James Cook Hospital. Winner: Zoe's Place Baby Hospice Care and Compassion Award: Celebrating those who go the extra mile to enhance the health and social care experiences of service users, relatives and staff. Susan Mortimer, ICU 2 Manager - James Cook Hospital, Karen O' Hara - North Ormesby Big Local, Kath McPartland - Teesside Hospice, Inpatient unit - Teesside Hospice, Ladies of Steel (Redcar), Dr Carolyn Rigby - Parkway Medical Centre. Winner: Dr Carolyn Rigby Community Innovator Award: Celebrating those who have developed valuable support services to fill missing gaps in the community. Karen Winspear - Senses Wellbeing CIC, Perimenopause Support UK, Shazia Noor - Nur Fitness, Leanne Smith and Jen Standen - IRIS Winners: Leanne Smith and Jen Standen Leading the Way for Change Award: Recognising those who have led a service to create positive impact. North Ormesby Big Local, Shazia Noor - Nur Fitness, Jan Rock - Matrix Neurological, Liam Devine - Parents 4 Change Ltd, Coral Danby - Public Health, Sophie Richardson, Michael Moorhouse, Sandra Bell - Community Mental Health Transformation Programme, Brian Rowcroft - Clevearc, The Empowering Communities Team - Redcar and Cleveland Council, Middlesbrough's Vaccination Partnership (Made up of several organisations) Winners: Sophie, Michael and Sandra - Community Mental Health Transformation Programme. Additional Award: This year Healthwatch South Tees also gave a Special Recognition Award to two deserving projects - which were within the Leading the Way for Change category.

It was thought that the Empowering Communities Team at Redcar and Cleveland Council and Middlesbrough's Vaccine Partnership should be recognised separately for the work they have done to provide vaccines right across South Tees.

Local council representatives, Tees Valley CCG, Public Health South Tees and Central Middlesbrough PCN (among others), helped to give vaccines to the general public, and are still doing so to this day. So a huge congratulations goes to each and every one of them.

Find out more about Healthwatch Middlesbrough and Healthwatch Redcar & Cleveland on their websites.

bottom of page